The Mothers Union of Holy Emmanuel Church is one of the largest branches of Mothers’ Unions of Sri Lanka, which is affiliated to the worldwide Mothers’ Union, which started in England in 1876. The Mothers’ Union of Holy Emmanuel Church was inaugurated by Bishop Harold de Soysa who was the Vicar of Holy Emmanuel Church then. To start with there were about 15 members some of whom were Mrs.E.A.Salgado, Mrs. C.A. Lambert de Silva, Mrs.P.T. Jayasuriya and others. The strength of the Mothers’ Union is now 65 members.

The aim of the society is the advancement of the Christian religion in the sphere of marriage and family life and in furtherance of the said aim to carry out all or any of the following objectives-:

  1. To uphold Christ’s teaching on the sanctity of marriage and to promote its wider understanding.
  2. To encourage parents to bring up their children in the fear and love of the Lord.
  3. To maintain worldwide fellowship of Christian mothers united in prayer, worship & service.
  4. To promote conditions in society favorable to stabilize family life and the protection of children.
  5. To help those whose family life has met with adversity.

Mothers’ Union meetings are held every 1st Thursday & 3rd Sunday of each month. Committee meetings are held once in three months. Here programmes are planned. We have spiritual, educational and health programmes. Every 1st Thursday cottage meetings are held in homes of the members. On 3rd Sunday speakers are arranged to speak on a wide variety of topics that concern the Mothers’ Union. Tills are given out every year and the collection is used for the upliftment of the needy each month. This practice has gone on from the very start of the Mothers’ Union. The members run a canteen after service every Sunday to collect funds. Collection cards are distributed each year and the funds are used mainly for transport to participate in Central Mothers’ Union activities. Monetary collections are made before Christmas time each year. The objective of it is to provide clothing to needy people mainly to be worn on Christmas day..

The members of the Mothers’ Union visit the Lunawa Hospital, St.John’s Home, The Home for the Handicapped Persons in Egoda Uyana, The Blind Colony at Katubedda and other places that deserve fellowship and care. The members try their best to provide these less fortunate people a memorable time.

A few days before Christmas the members of the Mothers’ Union go caroling to the elderly and housebound members of the Mothers’ Union cheering them up and making them happy, instilling into them the joyful message of Christmas. The members participate in all Church activities be it making tea or serving dinner. Get together picnics are held ones a year to promote love & fellowship among them.

The main concern of the Mothers’ Union is the Sunshine home for Elders, which provides shelter to 20 elders. The Wardens of Holy Emmanuel Church loaned them 89 perches of land belonging to the Church for this project. We ventured without any funds on our hands but armed with simple confidence in the almighty believing that nothing is impossible with God. The home started with rooms donated by the late M/s Hilda & Sylvia Peiris costing Rs.140, 000/=. This was initiated by the late Mr. Anton Fernando, Mrs.F.R.E Mendis and the nucleus of the Home, Mrs. Anula de Mel.

The building is expanding slowly as contributions come in from generous parishioners, friends and well wishers. Our vision is to provide accommodation for males & elderly couples as time goes on. The founder of this Home is Mrs.Anula de Mel who was the enrolling member at that time. A Management Board nominated by the Mothers Union manages this Home. The past Management Board comprised the Vicar as the Chairman and Mrs.Anula de Mel (Vice Chairman), late Mr. Ernie de Silva, Dr.Edgar Gomes, Mr.Anton Fernando, Mrs.Rita Goonasekara, Mrs.Shirani Perera and Mrs.Kanthi Perera, Mrs.Mandrupa Fernando, Mr.Ebert Perera and Mr.Sumithra de Silva.

The present Management Board consists of the Vicar as the Chairman, Mrs.Erani de Mel (Project Manageress/Vice Chairperson), Mrs.Kanthi Perera, Mrs.Anula de Mel, Mr.Tilak Perera,(Project Treasurer),Mrs. Ratnavali Fernando(Hon. Secretary),Mrs. Stella George,Mrs.Deepthi Fernando,Mrs.Obsriya Perera,Mrs.Premani Ferdinando,Mr.Vernon Mendis & Mr.Harin Gomes (Legal Consultant).

The office bearers of the Board of Management consists of

1. Chairman -The Incumbent of the Church (Ex-Officio)

2. Project Manager/Vice Chairman.

3. Asst. Project Manager.

4. Project Secretary.

5. Project Treasurer

6. Legal Consultant.

7. Committee

8. Two Wardens from Holy Emmanuel Church

9. One representative from Senior Guild

10. Three Ex-Co members

11. Four others

Seven members of the Church nominated by the Committee of the Union including Branch Leader, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer (Ex-officio) of the Union. An Ex-officio member can be elected as one of the project leaders.

A yearly “bring & buy”sale, some of the items, which are handicrafts, made by the elders, the members of the Mothers’ Union and contributions from Companies provide income for the Home.

The Sunshine Home for Elders goes on from strength to strength due to the valiant efforts of the members of the Mothers’ Union and the generosity of our parishioners and well wishers.


Almighty God, our heavenly Father, who gave marriage to be a source of blessing to mankind, we thank you for the joys of family life. Pour cut upon us your Holy Spirit that we may truly love and serve you. Bless all who are married and every parent and child. May we know your presence and peace in our homes; fill them with your love and use them for your glory. Bless the members of the Mothers’ Union throughout the world, unite us in prayer and worship, in love and service, that strengthened by your grace, we may seek to do your will; through Jesus Christ, our Lord –



Mothers Union Committee


President Incumbent EX-Officio
Branch Leader M/s. Srikanthi Ferdinando
Asst. Branch Leader M/s.Deepthi Fernando
Secretary M/s.Stella George
Asst. Secretary  M/s.Sunethra Fernando
Treasurer M/s.Preminie Ferdinando
Asst. Treasurer M/s.Obsriya Perera
Sec. for Religious Activities M/s. Errani de Mel


Kanthi Perera
Nelum Peiris
Preethi de Mel
Srikanthi Mendis
Nlmini Fernando
Sheila Mendis